top of page
Writer's pictureKelli McNally

A Toy Story

Updated: Dec 5, 2022

My short yet long and exciting journey began by traveling from place to place. My life began when I was created in a factory where I was told my purpose was to make a kid happy. I was taken to a random store and sat patiently for hours on the shelf. I then went for a car ride and was left in a box where I had made many new friends. We were all set up to have our picture taken, there were hundreds of us. We were then placed into a dark roomy bag and thrown into the back of a truck. We were then taken to an old beautiful Victorian train station and left overnight to listen as the train raced past. Yet again transported, only this time to a house. I was blinded by paper, then left under a strongly smelling tree that jingled when someone ran past. Then the paper is ripped off with a single tear and there is light, with a little gleaming face of joy staring at me with shining young eyes. The eyes of a small kid would from that moment take me to every hospital visit they had to take. My kid was sick, yet I seemed to make them as happy, as they made me. My kid became my first home. Lucy became my purpose.


About the writing: Lucy is in fact a real young beautiful girl with the heart of an angel. I volunteer with the Ashley Lauren Foundation and get to help kids like her who struggle with cancer. Lucy is around 5 now and has battled cancer her whole life. This story is the true journey some of Lucy´s toys took this Christmas. I´m not sure if there is any better home for a loving toy than in her arms.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Texts

“Good Morning” can simply make a girl feel special. Opening their phone not knowing what they will see, and “good morning” glows on their...

Allow It

Weirdness is only originality with a twist. You decide to wear vibrant colors others might not, then someone likes it. The process...

Too Late

The night goes too long, you're working late. Time to clock out seems to come fast. The place is almost empty. Almost. One guy sits, not...

Comments


bottom of page